Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Musicians Insitute Library

Library Orientation : Finding Books, Articles, & Media

Article Databases

Search MI & Libraries Worldwide Search the databases and print materials of MI and libraries worldwide.

Avalon.mi.edu Faculty and visiting artist clinics dating back to 1977, Artist Development, faculty mixes, and course reserves.

Music Online: Classical Music in Video  
Music Online: Classical Music in Video will contain 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Music Online: Opera in Video  
Music Online: Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

JSTOR Music  
The JSTOR Music Collection contains thirty-three leading titles in the field of musicology, music theory, ethnomusicology, and music education. Titles available in the JSTOR Music Collection are also included in a subscription to the Arts and Sciences III collection. Date coverage spans from 1844 to 2014. Much of the content is in English but German, French, Spanish, Italian, Hungarian, and Dutch are also represented in journal coverage. (Please uncheck, “Include links to external content.”)

Oxford Grove Music Online  
Oxford Grove Music Online is a gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

eBooks & Audio Books Powered by Overdrive 
A selection of eBooks and Audio books; on music instructional methods, studies, exercises, printed music, performance, music history and criticism, composition, motion picture and film music, lyric writing, music analysis, appreciation, and social aspects, biographies, sound engineers, music production, recording executives and producers, design, marketing, branding, and more.

Music Online: Popular Music Library  
Music Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Music Online: American Music  
Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Music Online: Classical Music Library  
A comprehensive database of over 43,000 classical music recordings with accompanying reference materials. Selections range from Gregorian chant to modern composition with multiple versions of works, where available. Included in this database are recordings from labels such as: EMI, Sanctuary Classics, Hyperion and CBC. Users can browse by genre, or search by composer, artist, genre or period.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music  
Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library 
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Music Online: Listening  
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries 
Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

https://effie.org
Username: library@mi.edu
Password: library2019
Effie Worldwide stands for effectiveness in marketing, spotlighting marketing ideas that work and encouraging thoughtful dialogue about the drivers of marketing effectiveness.  The Effie network works with some of the top research and media organizations worldwide to bring its audience relevant and first-class insights into effective marketing strategy.
 
Effie Worldwide’s resources include the Case Studies Database, featuring hundreds of effective marketing cases worldwide, the Effie Awards, and the Global Effie Index, ranking the most effective companies and brands around the world, among other key educational and learning tools that our programs offer for marketers at each stage of their careers.

Pollstar Pro 
Username: library@mi.edu 
Password: library2019
Since its 2007 debut, PollstarPro has raised the bar, creating a new industry standard for customized information searches, box office information, business analysis, artist itineraries and up-to-the-minute business news. This is your go-to database for everything from tour histories to executive contact information and it is included with a subscription to Pollstar. 

Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition  
(Please click, "Show Only Titles in My Subscription," to the left) is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. Coverage includes popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups. The articles of the dictionary range from small de­finitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the United States, and the American history of the orchestra. The dictionary’s articles are supplemented by over 400 images and 140 musical examples and other materials.

Music Online: Reference  
Music Online: Reference brings together a variety of essential music reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Baker’s Dictionary of Music, Baker’s Bibliographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker’s Student Encyclopedia of Music.

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music  
Comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.

Music Online: African American Music Reference  
African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Oxford Grove Music Online  
Oxford Grove Music Online is a gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library  
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library  
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.

https://mobile.mi.edu/ 
Live Performance Workshop charts. 

What Are Peer Reviewed Articles?