New Student Guide

The JSTOR Music Collection contains thirty-three leading titles in the field of musicology, music theory, ethnomusicology, and music education. Titles available in the JSTOR Music Collection are also included in a subscription to the Arts and Sciences III collection. Date coverage spans from 1844 to 2014. Much of the content is in English but German, French, Spanish, Italian, Hungarian, and Dutch are also represented in journal coverage. (Please uncheck, “Include links to external content.”)

Oxford Grove Music Online is a gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online.

Alexander Street publishes more than 80 collections totaling many millions of pages, audio tracks, videos, images, and playlists. We’re concentrating on building the best collections we can across the curriculum—in literature; music; women's history; black history; psychological counseling and therapy; social and cultural history; drama, medical, theatre, film, and the performing arts; religion; sociology; and other emerging areas. With over 900,000 albums, 11 million tracks, in various genres, 3,800 videos, and 100,000 books with over 1.8 million pages, Alexander Street Press has all the resources you need to support your learning. Simply log in using your MI email username and password.

You can also download the Libby App on your smartphone or tablet to read on the go!